Words of MavericK

Blabbering of a Fool

Laptop Stand – The ‘Binbou’ Way!

Guided by Kodomut’s efforts in making a DIY laptop stand, I’ve decided to make one of my own!

21-01First, you need cardboard. There are many types of cardboard around, so make sure you get the strong type. Like your laptop box…that’s pretty good cardboard there.

21-02Second, download the template from greenUPGRADER and copy them unto the cardboard to cut out the parts you will need.

21-03I adjusted the slope steeper so that I don’t end up looking like a praying mantis when typing on my laptop when it’s on the stand.

21-04The next step will be, of course, to cut them out.🙂
If you have noticed, I cut out more than 2 pieces of No.2 as I have decided to ‘strengthen’ my stand by having 2 layers! And after assembling the pieces together (and gluing with UHU glue for me)…

21-05Ta-dah! The final product.
OK, not so final…how come?

21-06What’s a laptop stand, without a laptop?
(And yes, I own a Fujitsu instead of a Macbook)

21-07Here’s the reason why: The cardboard kinda folds under the weight of the laptop at the thin areas.
I then ‘strengthen’ them using UHU glue again (🙂 )…don’t have the pictures for them though…

21-08Another ‘problem’: A rather huge gap between the stand and the base of the laptop.
Reason for this is because the base itself isn’t straight!
But the laptop is still held steadily in place by the laptop, so no frets.🙂

And there you have it! (Or I have it)

And now nearly two weeks of my 3-weeks-break is almost over…what shall I do next? A more thorough clean-up of my room? Hmmm….

Gotta go check out the Natsu-Matsuri tomorrow! Gonna behave myself there…the other Singaporeans had better do the same…and DO NOT ADDRESS THE JAPANESE (prob there will be!) AS ‘JAPs’!! IT’S RUDE!!!

6 responses to “Laptop Stand – The ‘Binbou’ Way!

  1. clementsoh Sunday, August 23, 2009 at 119

    Dude how strong is the stand eh? Thinking of making out but my laptop is a whooping 3kg+.

    • MavericK Sunday, August 23, 2009 at 1133

      Hmmm…my laptop’s around 2.5kg…

      Basically, the cardboard I used is pretty strong, supporting 3kg+ shouldn’t be a problem if the weight is against the grain (did I get this right?). The problem with this template are the ‘stoppers’.
      I think if you want extra strength, you can actually modify and include a fourth piece which reinforces the ‘stoppers’, or even use it as the stopper itself, by placing it at an angle.
      🙂

  2. jas Saturday, August 22, 2009 at 303

    …and your Fujitsu is more expensive than my Macbook.

  3. kodomut Saturday, August 22, 2009 at 226

    The best stand is one which you have the momotaros carrying ze laptop!

Leave a Reply

