Words of MavericK

Blabbering of a Fool

旅立ちの唄 (Tabidachi no Uta)/A Song upon Setting Off

Another attempt on translating, after such a long time.
I myself think I’ve done a rather crappy job out of this song, but I can somehow realize the meaning of it, which only now then I realize how closely linked this song is to the movie. 🙂

Original lyrics here.

旅立ちの唄/A Song upon Setting Off

 Do not be afraid.
Light up the lamp with anything you can get your hands on
A night of loneliness will eventually break into dawn
On days when you fall down, I will be able to sense it in the far-off distance
And when you try again after getting up, you will somehow manage to make it, won’t you

The song you have once loved is now being played across town
That is an unexpected gift given to me in such a casual manner

Ah A song upon setting off
Where shall we head off to? Perhaps we will chance upon each other somewhere Ah
But it will be ‘Goodbye’ for now
When a time which someone starts forgetting me comes, I will be calling you
However, even if you can hear me, an answer is not needed…

When something dear that you have once lost comes back to you again
Start all over again, just like a cycle it is
‘Until now, I was not able to cry or smile’ is something I’m wishing hard for you to say
As I thought, you are longing for someone

Even though you like to say that you are unable to do it due to hesitation
In that manner of yours, you continue to leave your mark on everyday
No matter what place you are at

Ah The last song we sung in celebration in the beginning
I’m still waving my hands to it even now
Saying goodbye to the grief and sorrow
When your legs stop due to exhaustion, do look back for a little while
I will be pushing you forward from a place you cannot reach

Ah A song upon setting off
Where shall we head off to? Perhaps we will chance upon each other somewhere Ah
But it will be ‘Goodbye’ for now
When I start to forget somebody
I will try to vaguely remember him
Look, it’s because in me exists a smiling you

I will be pushing you forward from behind
However, an answer is not needed

Same old, same old: Help me make this translation a better one, by pointing any silly mistakes made! And yeah, forgiveness hoped too. 🙂

One response to “旅立ちの唄 (Tabidachi no Uta)/A Song upon Setting Off

  1. Pingback: 旅立ちの唄 (Tabidachi no Uta) lyrics « Words of a MavericK

Leave a Reply

