Words of MavericK

Blabbering of a Fool

The Joy of Reading…

It’s been a while since I’ve sat down and really read a book. A real book. Not manga, or anything like that.

Remembered last mid-year, when I had completed the entire series of Resident Evil short novels. Well…not much of a good choice for books, but it’s still reading right? Then early this year to the middle of this year, I started to read Harry Potter, though I still haven’t read the last book. 😛

And now, if those who have visited this blog of mine have noticed, I’ve started reading again. Novels. Light novels. Light novels in Chinese. Which, for some reason, is like a major shock to people around me. I dun understand why. I have Chinese friends learning a third language like Korean, Thai etc…but when they see the light novels I’m reading, they always give a yelp of surprise. They just seem so surprised at the amount of words (perhaps hierographs to them) in them. And they are further stunned by the fact that the text in the light novels are in traditional Chinese.

As for other friends, I expect them to be shocked anyway, since the the population in Singapore is full of ‘bananas’ anyway (yellow on the outside, white on the inside…you know what I mean, dun you?).
Seriously, I think the ‘华语Cool’ (Mandarin Cool) campaign (to promote the use of Mandarin) is a waste of time here. 毕竟本地年轻人从小就一直吃 ‘kentang’ (potato) 吃到大。就算对自己所崇拜的华人偶像也只会给一些这样的评语:

  • Whoa, that 周X伦 hor, he’s damn cool man! He’s very  leh!!!
  • 林X杰 sing song so nice!!! (Though I hardly think most fully understand what any of their idols are singing…even when they are mimicking the song…)

根本就是‘半桶水‘。

Anyway, moving back to the light novels, I’m currently reading the 涼宮ハルヒ series…Chinese version though, my level of Japanese only allows me to understand some lines in original Japanese manga. Now at the third book in the series, 涼宮ハルヒの退屈, or The Boredom of Suzumiya Haruhi (sorry, but I refuse to the family name of Japanese names at the back). I had watched the anime version of The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi, which is actually based on the first 3 books in the series, with contents here and there…but reading the novels brings me to another level of enjoyment in the Suzumiya Haruhi fantasy.

A slight spoilers perhaps, but I understood this from reading the novels: Kyon is the reason why Haruhi enrolled into the same high school as him. Involves quite a bit of Mikuru too. 🙂

This is how I feel about reading:
Watching an animated version or a movie adaptation of a book you’ve read lets your imagination come to life, as brought to right in front of your eyes. Sadly, what you see/watch may not be what you have imagined, and thus may not satisfy your imaginative mind. And further more, your impression of the adapted book will tend to always stick to the version you have seen/watched.
Reading is different. Though the images as mentioned are hardly ever brought out to you in the flesh (except for some illustrations here and there), there tend to be more, if not endless, room for imagination. And if you dun like what you’re imagining, just start over again!

Oh well, again the pros and cons of everything.

Enjoy reading!!!

Leave a Reply

