Words of MavericK

Blabbering of a Fool

Proposal Daisakusen: Afterthoughts

求めよ、さらば与えられん。
motomeyo, saraba ataeraren
(Ask, and it shall be given.)
尋ねよ、さらば見い出さん。
tazuneyo, saraba miidasan
(Seek, and you shall find.)
扉を叩け、さらば開かれん。
tobira o tatake, saraba hirakaren
(Knock on the door, and it shall be opened to you.)

The 3 lines spoken by the yousei to Ken, before their parting. Make a whole lot of sense to me, and, I believe, to many fans of Proposal Daisakusen. The main points of the drama in the 10 episodes seemed to be ‘Do not leave any regrets’ and ‘You will never know unless you try’, but turns out in the last episode that the main theme the drama is trying to point out is that ‘What is important is not how you could have changed the past, but how you can change the present for the future’.

Nice twist.

Well, the ending of the drama is rather…unsatisfying, but hey, Rei did choose Ken, so I can’t complain much, can I? 😀 As for Tada, well, guess I was too skeptical about him…turns out to be a super duper nice guy…even willing to give up his own marriage for the happiness of the one he loves. Feeling rather sorry for him now (my vote still goes to Ken).

I wish the yousei can make appearances in other dramas, playing the same ‘mentor’ role to the respective protagonists. He doesn’t have a background story in this drama, so technically it is possible for him to appear in other dramas as well, dun you agree?

Change yourself, and you will change your future.

NOTE: CHANGES TO BE EXPECTED AFTER I’VE WATCHED THE SP…AND PROBABLY AFTER A POST ON THE SP AS WELL. 😛

5 responses to “Proposal Daisakusen: Afterthoughts

  1. MavericK Wednesday, April 9, 2008 at 1630

    Hey yo, reedler!

    That’s a temptation for me, ya? Haha…yeah, this page will have changes after I’ve watched the SP myself… 😀

  2. reedler Wednesday, April 9, 2008 at 1435

    The Final… hmmm, The 2 hour Special Episode satisfy me 😀

  3. Wendy Friday, November 9, 2007 at 1816

    Hi Maverick,

    I came across your blog when I was searching for the lyrics of the theme song of Proposal Daisakusen. I just finished the series (in a day) yesterday and everything still rings in my mind, especially the song. I must say the show is inspiring and makes me reminisce my school days. Good summary!

  4. MavericK Monday, July 16, 2007 at 725

    Yup…the song is just brillant…made me felt the same way when I first heard Chage & Aska’s ‘Say Yes’… 🙂

    And I think Proposal Daisakusen is still popular, even after it is completed…and even though the very ending kinda suck… 😛

    Even though the ending only implied the ending of Ken and Rei, the episode still showed the growth of Ken, which is marvelous… 😀

  5. Hm Monday, July 16, 2007 at 535

    The finale was, as you said, very unsatisfying.

    This was a very popular drama but many found that the last episode helped to make the drama a bit skeptical as to its quality. But hey, I still like the final song.

Leave a Reply

