Words of MavericK

Blabbering of a Fool

My First “Blood Ritual”

Another outdated post on a much earlier happening last year (technically, last month).

It’s scary what UGC modules can do to one’s mind and body. So I had my final UGC (which actually is the code for World Civilizations, I wonder why…) exam, and I didn’t have a good feeling about my results.
I got a C, by the way. I suck at history.
Outside the exam hall, my good friend Lester suggested going for blood donation, as there was a drive going on right at campus. And so, under the influence of post-UGC trauma and other enthusiastic comrades, there you have it: my first blood donation.

Hell, I wouldn’t say I wasn’t scared, though not terrified, but IT IS as what every blood donor has said, and I’m going to say it myself this time: IT REALLY IS PAINLESS (surprisingly)!
The only sensation of pain you would is only when the anesthetic  jab pricks the skin, but maybe it’s just me, ’cause although I’m fine with jabs, I really dislike this moment.

And oh, the entire process was really short, like 5-7 minutes for me. The nurse told me the duration differs from person to person though. It’s just the post-donation rest that’s rather long, ’cause they don’t wanna have anyone fainting all around the place from overexertion, do they?

And there you have it! I’m only allowed to donate again after February, and I’ll say I’m definitely going to donate again.

Meanwhile, it seems that O type blood (yay, my type) is actually running at critical levels in Singapore, so I’ve unknowingly done my part. Have a heart and spare some blood, ya? :)

2 responses to “My First “Blood Ritual”

  1. Shizuo Friday, January 6, 2012 at 1957

    I never donate blood, because I was afraid of needles T_T

    • MavericK Friday, January 6, 2012 at 2201

      Haha, I think it’s an innate fear?
      I’m not exactly fond of needles myself, but I’m not scared to tears by them either. And frankly speaking, I never actually saw the needle penetrating my skin, nor even felt it, for the donation process. It was really painless. LOL :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

